Claysville Jr. High is a school with a rich history. It was born from community support and that support has continued through generations. Claysville Jr. High serves preschool through eighth grade. It was placed on the Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage in 2004.
On August 28, 1928, excavation was started on Claysville School. It opened a year later. The rock for the building was gathered by students and families on the ridges and pastures around Buck Island. The original building was four rooms and an auditorium. Much of the labor and materials were donated. Mr. A.M. (Gus) Alred was the building contractor.
The original building has been added on to many times. In 1934, three classrooms were added and in 1937, three more classrooms were added. The lunchroom was built under two classrooms in 1950. In 1964, the Marshall County Board of Education bought 8.5 acres from TVA. This grew the school grounds to be 15.5 acres. Three additional acres were purchased in 1985. The gymnasium was build in 1967 and a separate building housing the lunchroom in 1977. The most recent addition was completed in 2003. It contains nine classrooms.
The school was not originally on lakefront property. When the Guntersville Dam was constructed and the lake was formed in the late 1930's, the water level rose to form a large inlet behind the school. It is not uncommon to see a variety of creatures on the school grounds.
This facility has long been a gathering place for the community. Many generations of families have studied and had fun here. In the 1930's, the school hosted the annual fiddler's convention. Through the years, baseball and basketball teams have practiced at the school. The newly formed Claysville Community Club holds its meetings at the school.